Hello everyone! There was also a great turnout from local clubs – Teignbridge Trotters numbering 22, and South West Road Runners 19, with good showings from Sidmouth and Honiton Running Clubs, also Axe Valley Runners, Exmouth Harriers, Haldon Trail Runners, and Women on the Run.improvements

It’s thanks to the hundreds of you who’ve taken part over the years, many returning, that we’ve raised more than £15,000 for the village playing field, and your collective encouragement and support is what inspires me and the rest of our small team to keep this event going.improvements

The top five men came home inside last year’s winning time of 39:43, set by Peter Monaghan of Torbay AC. Peter took nearly three minutes off his time, to retain first place in 36:46, followed by Michael Lesniak of South Molton Strugglers in 34:04, and Gareth Davies of South West Road Runners in 38:20.

The event first staged in 2007, is run by Tipton St John Playing Field Association, in conjunction with Sidmouth Running Club. First to cross the finish line was South West Road Runner James Reeves in 36:57, just ahead of Teignbridge Trotter Daryl Milford in 37:06, with Alex Watkins of Haldon Trail Runners in third place in 37:57.improvements

My goal this year is to be prepared, race smart, and enjoy the experience of being with 50 people doing the same challenge over three days. There was a new element of competition in the fun run – this year renamed the Jackie Box Fun Run, in memory of the local mum who sadly died a few days before last year’s event.

Tagged with: